Disabled Rights and Bullying

We all know we are unique and there’s no-one else in the world like us. But imagine if there was that one thing about you that made your physical ability , learning style or anything else different from any other? As sad as it may seem, the rates of bullying disabled people get higher every year. Concentrating on the end of our current year, I have discovered that more than 62% of students who are suffering from the main aspects in the autistic spectrum are bullied unspeakable times throughout the week. You just have to think of how non-disabled human beings handle bullying, but 100 times worse.
I will list the horrific facts for you now before you even dare to question anything.Beings with disabilities are two to three times more likely to be bullied than there non-disabled peers. Now I will aim to concentrate on life in Britain/UK

•Children with disabilities are more likely to be bullied than those who aren’t disabled. 62% of disabled people reported that they were being bullied, while only 25% of non-disabled people reported that they were being bullied.

• The children who have visible physical conditions/physical disabilities eg, (Down Syndrome/ Cerebral Policy) + (Paralysis_ other wheelchair disorders) are more likely to be called names, picked on, bullied in a secret form and be excluded from other activities.

I will now change my concentration to the U.S Research in which I hope to reach out to those parents in America who may be seaking help for their children who just happen to be disabled. The research I have discovered states that 25% of nondisabled American students are bullied, however; 60% of American disabled students are bullied. This is a different way of highlighting the remaining fact that only 10 Non-Disabled US Students  have reported bullying, where as up to 20 or 30 American Disabled Children have reported bullying. 

 I know this isn’t the exact same amount on the disabled side of things but there’s only 5 per cent away from the UK Average and the U.S Average.Now that we have gained the attention of both these averages, I will now go in to deeper information so that both these sides end up coming closer together. So, how does bullying affect a disabled person from learning?

When disabled people are bullied it can have a life-threatening turn on their learning. These circumstances can go two ways. 

                                One of these is:

• Ignoring the problem until it gets to a certain extent.

I will let you into the secret that this is what I did when I was bullied by a person over a period of time.

                             Another type of this is:

• Either acting on that moment as soon as it appears or standing up for yourself

I will now tell you a bit about my past experience with the chosen topic. I have been bullied throughout a number of days  for a few years. When I say “A number of days” I mean there was only certain days it happened on. 

Like on the first day; 

  • I was getting ready to go out and was excited about the fact that I would be going a way to film in a few weeks. Within a few minutes I was told that I should just give up on all my dreams (as I’m also hoping to be a writer one day).
  • A few days after; I was told that I would have to drink alcohol and wear tons of make-up to impress a guy (make-up is something which often makes my skin flare up)

 I usually spend a lot of time up in a local theatre in Belfast but there was one year there when loads of people wanted to talk to me and I told them that I had to get sucktion first but I would talk to them after (sucktion is how other people cough for me as I am unable to). 

  • Well that afternoon, this certain person said that I was being rude by stating that I needed sucktion.
  • For a few years I was told no-one liked me
  • That I wouldn’t get any GCSEs 

and…

  • That there were other people in the world better than me which then ended with me being told that I wouldn’t get anything out of life. 
  • One day in Spring 2014, this person yelled at me that I didn’t have the right to tell her what to do even though she is payed to be my hands and feet. 
  • Then on my way home from school one day at the beginning of Summer, I was told that everyone’s lives would be better without me. 

As soon as I got home on that day I couldn’t help myself from going onto Facebook and typing in “Is it true no-one likes me?” I then sent a text message to my mum and told her everything that happened and what it had made me feel like. As soon as I knew no-one was looking at me I posted this big massive essay over social media which was based on the same subject. I adsajurated slightly and mentioned all the emotional damage this did to my immune system. If it had only been me in the room I would have broke down crying. Concentrating on what I had mentioned in my post, I made a point in mentioning that I was considering starving myself to make everything better. When mum found out about my post by phone call we had a compforting conversation with each other. Now changing my concentration to this year, there have been a couple of sly comments aimed at the fact that I have help in my art when tracing from the board and pouring out hot wax. According to this person, that is someone else doing the gcse even though I do the painting and supplying the colour which I CAN DO! The normal saying is “So we’re doing YOUR gcse in there.” which is often based at the person who’s helping me instead of me. This prooves that adults are just as capable of bullying the disabled as to the peers who are the same age.

Please proceed by reading the following information about how likely each disability is to be bullied.

Adhd: 27% likelihood of getting bullied 

Autism: 28% likelihood of getting bullied

Aspergers: 29% likelihood of getting bullied

Dyslexia: No exact percentage given

Dystonia: No exact percentage given

Paralyses: No percentage is known but people who are paralysed/ joined with people with Down Syndrome and a few more wheelchair disorders are the most likely to get bullied.

I haven’t mentioned a lot of disabilities on this list as some of them are harder to find and some don’t have an exact percentage.

So, now that I have talked about mostly all the points involved with the subject of bullying the disabled I will now add in my own opinion. I understand that if someone who is disabled is bullying a non-disabled person but unless that’s the case something should be put in place which would help in any of these circumstances. I agree that some law has to be put in place for each of the cases I have involved throughout this blog.

Example of how likely people with disabilities are to get bullied. This image shows us that the person in the wheelchair is the victim while all the darkness which surrounds him is the bully.

Leave a comment